Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Current Stories

Preakness Stakes Second Gem of the Triple Crown

Preakness Stakes

A Group I thoroughbred horse race in the United States, and it is also the second race of the Triple Crown equestrian of that country.

It takes place at Pimlico Racetrack in Baltimore City, Maryland, on the third Saturday of May.

This event has been running since 1873.

The distance from 1925 to the present is 1-3/16 miles (1.91 km). The prize pool is $1.5 million.

YouTube Video

Preakness Stakes

Unlike the Kentucky Derby, the first gem of the Triple Crown, fewer horses run in this one.

It is very strange that a Derby winner decides not to race in the Preakness, so it always turns out to be a race of great emotions.

And the public is often very excited thinking that the same winner at Churchill Downs Racecourse can keep the Triple Crown.

There is only one chance of a Triple Crown winner when the horses take the starting positions at Pimlico.

A special case was in the year 2019, where the horse Country House, won the Kentucky Derby controversially…

But even so, Country House did not run the Preakness Stakes. The news that was given on May 7, 2019.

Likewise, the winner of the Derby, Maximum Security, who was later disqualified, did not run in this joust either.

This took away some interest from the Preakness Stakes, as no horse could win the triple crown.

Preakness Stakes
Preakness Stakes

The Triple Crown and the Preakness Stakes, the example of the year 2022

The same thing happened this year 2022. Last-minute surrogate jockey and horses Sonny Leon alongside Rich Strikes won the 2022 Kentucky Derby.

Because it was a last-minute addition, the win was surprising.

The most surprising thing was that the rich strikes coach decided not to run in the Preakness Stakes, so he closed the door to the triple crown of 2022.

This decision was because the strength of Rich Strikes is long runs. The same thing that helped him win the Kentucky Derby would have made it difficult for him to win the Preakness Stakes.

That is why it is said that the Preakness Stakes separates the triple crowned from the winners of the Kentucky Derby.

Other interesting facts

The Preakness Stakes is shorter than the Kentucky Derby.

And it generally doesn’t have as many horses as Chucrchill Downs, as only 14 participate in this race.

It is rare that all the spaces are occupied in the Preakness, since the average number of horses that run this race is 10.

In 2018 only eight horses participated.

Some of the riders from the 2019 Kentucky Derby returned for the Preakness Stakes, although the winner of the 145th edition was not there. Nor was the disqualified Maximun Security.

But there were some new runners who didn’t race in Louisville.

Expectations 2019:

Code of Honor and Tacitus were expected to enter the Preakness Stakes following their performances at Churchill Downs. However, both horses did not end up participating in the race.

Like the horses Anothertwistafate and Alwaysmining, both of which were not in the Kentucky Derby, but were considered worth considering for the Preakness Stakes.

However, the forecasts did not get it right. Anothertwistafate and Alwaysmining came in 10th and 11th place respectively.

Did you know?

The Preakeness Stakes is not a race to bet on unfavorite horses.

Unlike the Kentucky Derby in which people bet on anyone because out of nowhere they can change plans.

An example of this is what happened in 2019. All bets revolved around Omaha Beach, but when it was withdrawn they bet on Game Winner.

Among other horses trained by Bob Bafert. However, the one least likely to win won.

And Country House that came second ended up being awarded, after the judges approved the lack of Maximum Security.

While in the second gem of the Triple Crown the horses with probabilities greater than 24-1 are the ones who have won this fair the least.

For example, the Master Derby horse with 23-1 odds won the Preakness in 1975.

Over the years it has been discovered that in the Preakness Stakes the horse with the best position in betting is the one with the best chance of winning it.

More Victories by Rider

Jockey Wins_
Eddie Arcaro61941, 1948, 1950, 1951, 1955, 1957
Pat Day51985, 1990, 1994, 1995, 1996
George Barbee31873, 1876, 1883
Bill Hartack31956, 1964, 1969
Lloyd Hughes31875, 1879, 1880
Gary Stevens31997, 2001, 2013
Victor Espinoza32002, 2014, 2015
Kent Desormeaux31998, 2002, 2016

The two jockeys with the most wins currently are Victor Espinoza and Kent Desoemeaux, with three wins each.

The all-time all-time record remains held by Eddie Arcaro, with a total of six wins in the Preakness Stakes.

While Mike Smith, a member of the Hall of Fame, gets his first Preakness Stakes aboard Justify, equine that won the Triple Crown.

Now it is time to know the biggest victories of the coaches in this fair.

More Wins by Coach

 Coach Wins_ Year
R. Wyndham Walden71875, 1878, 1879, 1880, 1881, 1882, 1888
Bob Baffert71997, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2010, 2015, 2018
D. Wayne Lukas61980, 1985, 1994, 1995, 1999, 2013
Thomas J. Healey51901, 1922, 1923, 1926, 1929
Jim Fitzsimmons41930, 1935, 1955, 1957
Jimmy Jones41947, 1948, 1956, 1958


In this line, Bob Baffert ties the record of victories by coach after his triumph in 2018 with Justify.

Baffert is also joining the select group of those who have coached two Triple Crown winners following his 2015 outright victory with American Pharoah.

“Baffert entered three horses in the Kentucky Derby, and definitely has interests in the Preakness Stakes,” reports the portal

The Preakness Stakes, the second gem of the triple crown, a step to consolidate

The Kentucky Derby is the “two most exciting minutes in the sport.”

We could say that the Preakness Stakes are the “two most exciting minutes of the Triple Crown”.

“There are no two without three” reads a saying and for the triple crown we could say that “there are no three without two”.

What happens once can be luck, what happens twice is always possible to happen again.

That’s why even the Belmont Stakes will ultimately owe its popularity to what happens in the previous two races.

A triple-crowned prospect is only possible when the kentucky Derby winner and then participates in the Preakness Stakes.

That is why the emotion of this race is intimately linked to the participation of the winner of the Derby and his possibilities, but only winning the Derby opens that door.

For Gustavo Mirabal Castro, the American Triple Crown is one of the great sporting events in the world.

It is also one of those times when the horse and its rider are one with destiny.

The demonstration that the place of the horse in modern society is next to man.


La entrada Preakness Stakes Second Gem of the Triple Crown se publicó primero en Gustavo Mirabal Castro.

You May Also Like


I like it this article. I’ll hope you too. See you later Gustavo Mirabal REUTERS/Blair Gable Welcome to Cultivated, our weekly newsletter where we’re...


The Relevance of Financial Education 0.0 00 The Relevance of Financial Education In a world as changing as the current one, it is...


I like it this article. I’ll hope you too. See you later Gustavo Mirabal Lucasfilm Disney has struck a distribution deal with Chinese tech...


Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem.